Search This Blog

Graduate Fashion Week 2017

Award winning designers receiving their Prizes during the Graduate Fashion Week Gala. 

Graduate Fashion Week (GFW) which marked its 26th anniversary this year, came to a Grant Finale in London this week, as the winners were chosen for awards that are aimed at propelling the careers of the UK's brightest fashion talent into the mainstream consciousness.

As always, the 'Christopher Bailey Gold Award' (named after its first winner in 1992) was the major one to win, and this year it was awarded to Halina North from the 'Edinburgh College of Art' for her trailblazing womenswear collection.

The other Award Winners were:

ASOS Communication Award
Winner: Charnice Blaze - Nottingham City University
Runner up: Ellie Burns, Ravensbourne

ASOS Design Award
Winner: Hattie Crowther, Sheffield Hallam
Runner up: Chloe Menzies, Ravensbourne

Boux Avenue Lingerie Award
Winner: Charley Chiddle, De Montfort University
Runner up: Hannah Mitchell, University of  Portmouth
Boux Avenue Swimwear Award
Winner: Lucy Watkins, De Montfort University

A dramatic Mens all-white look during Graduate Fashion Week. 

Vivienne Westwood Sustainable & Ethical Award (Sponsored by Lenzing Group, Supported by The Sustainable Angle & Ethical Fashion Forum)
Winner: Catherine Watts, Salford University
Runner up: Eva Joy Sargent, Manchester Fashion Institute
David Band Textiles Award
Winner: Stefan Efobi, Manchester School of Art
Runner up: Alice Revell, UCA Rochester
New Fashion Media Award
Winner: Che-Ling Shek, UCLAN
Runner up: Ellie Burns, Ravensbourne
Draper's Fashion Publication Award
Winner: Elizabeth Bishop, Ravensbourne University
Runner up: Francesca Thompson, UCA Epson
New Business Award
Winner: Miruna Ioana Manole, UCA Epson
Runner up: Maleece Wells, Birmingham City University
Fashion Photography Award
Winner: Alannah Cooper, Heriott Watt University
Runner up: Ede Dugdale Close, Northumbria University
YKK Accessories Award
Winner: Megan Evans, University of South Wales
Runner up: Sam Martin Harper, Ravensbourne
Fashion Marketing Award
Winner: Caroline Booth, Nottingham Trent University
Runner up: Caitlin Banton, Ravensbourne
Styling and Creative Direction Award
Winner: Matthew Morriares, Arts University Bournemouth
Runner up: Lucy Bonner, University of Salford
An amazing array of colors and patterns in a look highlighting the high level of fashion design during Graduate Fashion Week.

Bonmarche Fashion For All Award
Winner: Caroline Bowden, University of Central Lancashire
Runner up: Sian McGinnes, Birmingham City University
Mothercare Childrenswear Award
Winner: Catherine Watts, University of Salford
Runner up: Alexandra Ward, Northumbria University
Clark's Footwear Award
Winner: Megan Davies, University of South Wales
Runner up: Georgia Battell, De Montfort University

A truly unique Mens look, that simply cannot go unnoticed.

TU Scholarship Womenswear
Winner: Laura Gillings, Bath Spa University
TU Scholarship Menswear
Winner: Amy Vanderwel, Nottingham Trent University
Boohoo Social Media Award
Winner: Nathalie Clarkson, Ravensbourne
Christopher Bailey Gold Award
Winner: Halina North, Edinburgh College of Art
Runner up: Abigail Coop, Nottingham Trent University
Debenhams Menswear Award
Winner: Daniel Rynne, Arts University Bournemouth

Daniel Rynne from Arts University Bournemouth receiving the 'Debenhams Menswear' Award.

M&S Womenswear Award
Winner: Irene D'Antonio, Edinburgh College of Art
Runner up: Claire Tagg, UCA Rochester
Visionary Knitwear Award
Winner: Ruth Williams, Edinburgh College of Art
Runner up: Abigail Coop, Nottingham Trent University

Ruth Williams from Edinburgh College of Art receiving the 'Visionary Knitwear' Award.

Catwalk Textiles Award
Winner: Maddie Williams, Edinburgh College of Art
Runner up: Frankie Dean, Edinburgh College of Art

Maddie Williams from Edinburgh College of Art receiving the 'Catwalk Textiles' Award.

Hilary Alexander Trailblazer Award (in partnership with Swarovski)
Winner: Halina North, Edinburgh College of Art
Runner up: Claire Tagg, UCA Rochester
George - Catwalk to Store Award
Winner: Laura Capello, Bath Spa University
Runner up: Daniel Rynne, Art University Bournemouth

Laura Capello from Bath Spa University receives the 'George Catwalk to Store' Award.

Swarovski International Award
Winner: Po-Chien Chin, Shin Chein University

Po Chien Chiw from Shih Chien University receives the 'Swarovski International Catwalk Competition' Award.

Little Black Dress Award

Winner: Yang Ting Kwok, Norwich University of Arts